The official release date of our new record, The Barn Birds, is August 13th. Thanks to everyone who downloaded the digital pre-release in December. You made a CD possible. The artwork is the gorgeous photography of Rodney Bursiel (Willie Nelson, Shawn Colvin, Lyle Lovett, Sarah Jarosz, Patrick Duffy...!) and John Dixon's dimensional design work. Quality control for the disc was seen through by Brent Lambert of Kitchen Mastering. My guitar sounds like it's on your face. Chris Kokesh is a fiddle player, singer, songwriter, and guitarist from Portland, Oregon. I met her at a song academy near Sisters, Oregon, playing songs around a fire. She had taught songwriting all week, and knocked me out that night with her fine fiddle playing. I brought her on stage with me at the Sisters Folk Festival and again the next year. We toured the Pacific Northwest together. It all went so well that we built the momentum into an album and the album into this tour.

"(Chris) Kohesh's songs of lost love, regret, community, and brave persistance... float effortlessly into the place where longing, love and nostalgia meet.” ~Eugene Weekly

Here are the dates we're playing this fall:

Thursday, August 29, 2013 | The Dalles Arts Center | Dalles, OR Friday, August 30, 2013 | Tsunami Books | Eugene, OR Saturday, August 31, 2013 | Friendship Hall | Pistol River, OR Sunday, September 1, 2013 | House Concert | Portland, OR Monday, September 2, 2013 | Timberline Lodge American Music Festival | Timberline Lodge, OR

Friday, September 13, 2013 | House Concert | LaGrange, IL Saturday, September 14, 2013 | WFMT's Folkstage | Chicago, IL

Thursday, October 3, 2013 | The Hezekiah Stone Coffeehouse | Leicester, MA Friday, October 4, 2013 | Folkus Project | Syracuse, NY Saturday, October 5, 2013 | House Concert | Hamilton, NY Sunday, October 6, 2013 | House Concert | Rochester, NY Wednesday, October 9, 2013 | The Burren | Somerville, MA Thursday, October 10, 2013 | B Side Ballroom | Oneonta, NY Friday, October 11, 2013 | Steel City Coffeehouse | Phoenixville, PA Saturday, October 12, 2013 | Moore Music (In the House) | Derwood, MD Sunday, October 13, 2013 | Village Concerts | Palmyra, VA Friday, October 18, 2013 | Columbus Performing Arts Center | Columbus, OH

Stay tuned to my website, facebook.com/jonathanbyrdmusic, thebarnbirds.com, @jonathanbyrd on twitter, and also facebook.com/chris.kokesh.music. Most importantly, tell your friends how much you like our music. Bring a group to a show. Bring a date; these are love songs!

I'll post more info soon with contacts for the house concerts, show times, etc. Share everything you can and help us launch The Barn Birds into flight!

Comment