I don’t know what to say on the internet today. Maybe it’s because I don’t have a television. I don’t know what the national conversation is. I follow physics on Twitter. I walk in the woods and take pictures of interesting tree bark.

I find tree bark interesting. Okay, let’s just back up and start there.

Tuesday, I flew to New York city with my love to see Hadestown. We had time to get to the hotel, find dinner, see the show, sleep, find breakfast, and fly home.

On the way to and from the theater, we walked by Times Square. I don’t know if you’ve ever been to Times Square. It’s a seizure of capitalism. It’s the manic side of the bipolar marketplace. It’s as far from tree bark as you can get.

We took a selfie at Times Square. A stranger took this picture of us taking a selfie. A meta-selfie. Surrounded by layers of technology and blinding lights in the howling heart of the cyborg city, we look like we’re dancing. Somehow, there is space all around us.

There is an infinite stream of couples taking selfies in Times Square. For the one who is fascinated by them, they will never get old. I’m sure this photographer’s friends think he’s a little goofy. Maybe they think he’s boring. Sometimes I think I’m boring.

I mean, I’m on the internet talking about tree bark.

This cliche picture is beautiful, and I bet he took a hundred beautiful photos of the most mundane thing in New York City that night. What’s your tree bark? What gets you to ignore everything for long enough to realize it wasn’t even close to everything? Where do you find everything again?

Your fan,

JByrd

****************

Apr 25 Thurs
The Aquarium
Fargo, ND

Apr 26 Fri
West End Cultural Centre
Winnipeg, MB

Apr 27 Sat
The Warming House
Minneapolis, MN

May 11 Sat
Tobias Music
Downers Grove, IL

May 16 Thu
Caffe Lena
Saratoga Springs, NY

May 17 Fri
King of Clubs
Syracuse NY

May 19 Sun
Askew Prov
Providence, RI

May 21 Tues
Rockwood Music Hall
New York, NY

May 23 Thurs
Cafe Nine
New Haven, CT

May 24 Fri
Morristown Unitarian Fellowship
Morristown, NJ

May 26 Sun
Jammin’ at Hippie Jacks
Crawford, TN

Jun 13 Thurs
Muddy Creek Music Hall
Winston-Salem, NC

June 29 Sat
Songs From the Wood
Deep Gap, NC

Jul 11 Thurs
The Park Center
Hayward, WI

July 12 Fri
Rhythm of the River Music Festival
Jackson, MN

July 27 Sat
Blue Note Bar and Grill
Durham, NC
w/ Jon Dee Graham!

Aug 10 Sat
Oak Grove Folk Music Festival
Staunton VA

Times Square.JPG

1 Comment