Want me to call you and sing a song over the phone? Well keep reading, because I really want to do that too.

My friend Sandy Green chairs a non-profit called Guitarists for Good. In short, they provide guitars to homeless shelters. When Sandy heard I was raising donations for the Eastern North Carolina School for the Deaf, she casually mentioned that she wished she could donate instruments, but the bylaws of Guitarists for Good would probably not allow it. Homelessness is a crucial part of their mission statement.

(Anyone who is thinking, ‘Um, deaf kids? Musical instruments?’ read this article: https://www.washington.edu/news/2001/11/27/brains-of-deaf-people-rewire-to-hear-music/)

Thursday night, I played a short set for Carolina’s Credit Union Foundation awards gala, an event to recognize philanthropic efforts of its member credit unions. Sandy Green, who also works with Local Government Federal Credit Union, brought me in for the event. The gala organizers paid me well for my time, but they were reluctant to let me sell CDs and other merchandise. I offered to donate 100% of my profits to a cause and Lauren Whaley, the gala’s organizer, loved the idea. She suggested I donate the money to Guitarists for Good.

We raised $650 in about twenty minutes. Sandy was ecstatic. I was happy to contribute to Guitarists for Good, and for new fans to drive home listening to my records.

Saturday, as the Pickup Cowboys and I were driving to Columbia, South Carolina, Sandy Green texted me. The Eastern North Carolina School for the Deaf fits into their bylaw structure. She has already found an acoustic bass for the school and is proposing two acoustic guitars. We think it would be great to have a piano on campus.

If you’d like to make a tax-deductible contribution toward these instruments for the Eastern North Carolina School for the Deaf, you can donate online, on the phone, or in person. You can give cash or an instrument. Visit: https://www.guitaristsforgood.org/support-us

Send an email to sandy@guitaristsforgood.org and tell her your donation is for the Eastern North Carolina School for the Deaf. Any amount is welcome.

I gave $650. Anybody who matches that or donates an instrument: show me your receipt, give me your phone number, and request a song. (My email is info@jonathanbyrd.com ). I’ll call you and sing it. Love y’all. Your fan,

JByrd

****************

Every Wednesday night!
The Kraken
Chapel Hill, NC

Feb 1 Fri
Society Garden
Macon, GA

Feb 2 Sat
TOL Coffeehouse
Columbia, SC

Feb 3
Arcana
Durham, NC
special guests for a 25-minute set! With Charles Latham

Feb 10 Sun
The Alleghany Arts Council for The Beat Goes On
Sparta, NC

Feb 14 Thu
Muddy Creek Cafe And Music Hall
Bethania, NC

Feb 22-23 Fri & Sat
Wintergrass Music Festival
Bellevue, WA

Mar 14 Thu
Muddy Creek Cafe And Music Hall
Bethania, NC, United States

Mar 15 Fri
The Cary Theater
Cary, NC

Mar 28 Thu
Red Dragon Listening Room
Baton Rouge, LA

Mar 30 Sat
Fayetteville Public Library
Fayetteville, AR

Apr 4 Thu
Museum of Commerce
Pensacola, FL

Apr 5 Fri
McGonigels’ Mucky Duck
Houston, TX

Apr 6 Sat
Sycamore Creek Concerts
Dripping Springs, TX

Apr 25 Thurs
The Aquarium
Fargo, ND

Apr 26 Fri
West End Cultural Centre
Winnipeg, MB

Apr 27 Sat
The Warming House
Minneapolis, MN

May 11 Sat
Tobias Music
Downers Grove, IL

May 16 Thu
Caffe Lena
Saratoga Springs, NY

May 19 Sun
Askew Prov
Providence, RI

May 21 Tues
Rockwood Music Hall
New York, NY

May 23 Thurs
Cafe Nine
New Haven, CT

May 24 Fri
Morristown Unitarian Fellowship
Morristown, NJ

May 26 Sun
Island Pride
Gaithersburg, MD

June 29 Sat
Songs From the Wood
Deep Gap, NC

July 12 Fri
Rhythm of the River Music Festival
Jackson, MN

Guitarists for Good.png

2 Comments